Christmas

Ruskin’s Christmas letter to H.S.Marks, 1877

Xmas Eve, 1877.

Knowing you as I have learnt to do this year, adds a very broad “bit of blue” to my Christmas sky, and a very bright “bit of red” to my Christmas holly-bush. I am at ease with you as I have not been with any one since I lost my own very dearest relations, and I am not the least afraid but that I shall tell you so again more earnestly next Christmas, if we all live. I can only write you this tiny card to-night with truest wishes that your kindly and modest life may be more and more brightened with daily love, and due and tranquil prosperity.

Ever your affectionate  J. Ruskin

The Ruskin Library will be closed from Friday 23 December

The Gallery will re-open on Monday 16 January with a new exhibition ‘Beautiful Effects’ – Ruskin’s Daguerreotypes of Switzerland.

The Reading Room will re-open at 10am on 3 January.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.