Ruskin Society Book Prize, 2015

The Ruskin Society has announced the short list for the first annual Ruskin Society Book Prize. The Prize was established ‘to recognize one outstanding new book concerning the life and work of John Ruskin, the immediate contexts of his life and work or themes closely connected with his life and work’.

The short list comprises:

Andrew Ballantyne, John Ruskin (Reaktion Books)
Caroline Ings-Chambers, Louisa Waterford and John Ruskin ‘For you have not falsely praised’ (Legenda)
Ken and Jenny Jacobson, Carrying Off the Palaces: John Ruskin’s Lost Daguerrotypes (Quaritch)

The list was unanimously agreed by the judges – Professor Jeffrey Richards (President of the Ruskin Society), Professor Stephen Wildman (Director of the Ruskin Library and Research Centre, Lancaster University) and Dr. Austen Saunders.

The winner will be announced at the Annual John Ruskin Birthday Event which will take place at 3.30 p.m. on Saturday 6 February 2016 at the Artworkers Guild, Queen Square, London.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.